Camino Stage 34: O Pedrouzo to Santiago de Compostela

IMG_2087

And the last day dawned. I was driven  back to the Camino and was on the road before 8:30am eager to reach Santiago. But, again as yesterday, there were mixed feelings. I spoke with two separate acquaintances along the way as we left O Pedrouzo that morning and they had the same thoughts – happy to be finishing and going on to see family perhaps, but at the same time a feeling of sadness that the Camino experience was ending. I felt exactly the same.

But an easy walking day and a day to be cheerful. Most of the morning walk was through the now familiar forest pathways.

And 3 or 4 hours in and after a break, I reached the outskirts of Santiago de Compostela

The Camino at this point goes over a hill (Monte de Gozo or Hill of Joy) from which you get you first real view down over the city. I made sure I lingered there for half an hour or so, savouring the moment I guess, before heading the last 5km down into my destination – the end of the Camino Frances in the plaza outside the cathedral.

I actually didn’t make it to my hotel without being called over by the two French couples I knew. They insisted that I have one beer with them to celebrate reaching Santiago – my pleas that I hadn’t found my hotel and was desperate for a shower came to no avail (but I enjoyed that beer!).

IMG_2019


And that night a final celebratory meal with Denis and his family and Angela (my fellow Raw Travel-ers) organised by Mandy and Megan who had gotten there a day or so earlier. A nice way to end the journey.

IMG_2021

 

Leave a Reply

